I am a Slave (Prayer of Confession with Pardon)

I am a Slave.  I am not free.

I do not love God above all. 

I do not love my neighbor. 

I do not care for the garden.

                  I love wealth that I did not earn.

                  I love pleasure.  I love self.

                  I love being right more than learning or teaching.

                  I love to make a living more than making life possible.

                  I love to coldly dissect rather than to be astonished in awe.

                  I love worship so long as it does not require sacrifice or change.

                  I love and live lies so that I can be better liked and elected.

                  I am a Slave.  I am not free.

                  Lord, Jesus!  Break these chains of sin. 

                  Free me so I can joyfully follow your way!  Amen.

                                  a time of silence…

                  Sisters and Brothers, Be Free!

Christ died for us while we were still sinners.  God loves us!

In the name of Jesus Christ, you are forgiven and free!

In the name of Jesus Christ, you are forgiven and free!

                  Glory to God!

 

-(CC) 2014 Nathan Decker, www.worshipswake.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

