Confession written August 8, 2011 at Richmond Hill

Refreshing, renewing, resurrecting Lord of the waters,

Forgive me.

Forgive that I have become so

stagnant

in my spiritual life that what once was living waters

has now become

green

pond

scum.

Forgive me.

Forgive that I rush the rapids so violently from one task to the next and never see the scenery

nor hear your voice above my own foam and roar.

Forgive me.

Forgive that overflow my banks

taking on too much much much much

threatening to drown those around me

with all my selfish, self-serving surf.

Forgive me.

Forgive that I do not return to you, my source

and so I dry up,

trickle

barely

moving

in between the dusty dry cracks of my bed.

Forgive me.

Fill my dead pools with life again.  Refresh me.

Slow my rapids to the pace you intend.  Renew me.

Train my tributaries to pull from you and not the chaos of stormy life.  Restore me.

Show me where you want me to go.  Redirect me.

Resurrecting Lord of the waters, hear my repentant prayer!

…silence…then turning to one another…

The Good Lord of the waters has heard your prayer.  Peace of Christ be upon you now.

Leave a Reply

